Skip to main content

PISD Wraps Up Year

Posted Date: 05/27/2022

PISD Wraps Up Year

Thursday afternoon, after school was out and students had left for the year, Perryton ISD faculty and staff gathered at Perryton High School to honor their retiring staff and to recognize those who have been with the district for five-year milestones.  Thirteen district staff members from throughout the district were saluted and given a personalized gift.

The retirees included:
    Jeff Schollenbarger - Teacher/Coach at Peryton High School, 24 years at PISD, 27 years total
    Dawn Fletcher - Teacher at Wright Elementary for 41 years (in the same room!)
    Sheila Chappel - Teacher at Perryton Kinder, 38 years at PISD, 40 years total
    Tena Clark - Teacher at Wright Elementary, 28 years at PISD
    Dianna Lemke - Teacher at Perryton Kinder for 38 years at PISD, 40 years total
    Leigh Ann Finney - Teacher at Wright Elementary for 37 years
    Kristy Waite - Grant Compliance Coordinator for PISD for 1 year, 31 years total
    Debbie Towner - Teacher at Wright Elementary for 41 years, 42 years total
    Kelly Hodge - Teacher at PHS for 15 years, 32 years total
    Lucy Landis - Para at Wright Elementary for 25 years
    Pat Bilson - Para at Perryton Kinder for 17 years
    Ana Vital - Custodian at Perryton Kinder for 25 years
    Doug Kile -  CFOR for PISD for 18 years
That is a total of #65 years of service to PISD, they will be missed.

Also at the event, the Rotary Teacher of the Year was announced. Rotary President Dent Felix presented the award to Leigh Ann Finney. “She cares deeply for each student.” Felix read from her nomination letter.  Mrs. Finney will receive a $1000 donation from the Rotary Club for her department and she will personally receive a $250 gift.  She also received an engraved crystal plaque. Congratulations on a well-deserved honor.

PISD Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Maria Rocque announced the staff members that are celebrating anniversaries of 5-year increments. Topping the list were Donna Sheppard and Danny Barclay who have each been with the district for 40 years. Those serving for 30 years included Margaret McLarty, Esmeralda Vaquera, and Dana Walker.  Twenty-four staff members were recognized for anywhere from 25 years of service down to five years. 

Superintendent James Mireles thanked the staff for a great year and encouraged the staff to enjoy the time off as they relax and recharge for next year.  With that, the 2021-2022 school year comes to an end.

Teacher of the Year