Skip to main content

PISD Board Welcomed New Members

Posted Date: 11/20/2020

The Perryton ISD Board of Trustees met on Thursday, November 19 and began the meeting by recognizing outgoing members Mike Heck and Loyd Cator.  Heck and Cator, who chose not to run for reelection, were given a plaque and a meat tray to thank them for their service to the school district.

New members, Ramon Vela and Pete DeSantiago, were sworn in to serve until May, 2023.  Board officers were voted on with Monty Kinnard remaining President and Tyler Merkel continuing at Vice President.  Joe Ogden will serve as Secretary, filling the position held by Heck.  Other remaining members are Wes Beal and Richard Beyea.

After a one-hour executive session to hear the Safety Audit Report from Safety Director Darin Clark, the board convened in open session and heard a proposal from Jim Powell who is offering his services as Construction Manager for the Rangerette Softball field project at no charge.   Powell believes he can use local contractors and save the district money compared to current proposals.

After hearing the monthly Superintendent, Directors and Campus reports, Assistant Superintendent Dr. Maria Gomez-Rocque and Perryton Junior High Principal Dimitri Garcia presented the Targeted Improvement Plan.  This plan is part of the process for campuses that are in “Improvement Required” status by the TEA.  PJH received an F Rating in the 2018-2019 school year.  This is the second year for PJH to go through this process since COVID-19 caused the cancelation of testing last spring eliminating the opportunity for PJH to show their improvement.  It was mentioned that there is a possibility of canceling this year’s tests as well.  It is unclear where that would leave schools like PJH.

Garcia and Roque explained the Targeted Improvement Plan in detail and the board approved the plan by a unanimous vote.

After looking at a busy December calendar, the board set the next meeting for 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 17.  That is the same night at the Ludi Peña Martin AEC Graduation so the board will have Executive Session at 6:00 and then break for graduation and then resume the meeting following the ceremony.

Outgoing Board Members and Board President
Outgoing Board Members Loyd Cator and Mike Heck with Board President Monty Kinnard

incoming Board Members
Incoming Board Members, Ramon Vela and Pete DeSantiago

Video of the entire meeting can be seen below.