Skip to main content

PHS Seniors Awarded Over A Million Dollars

Posted Date: 05/18/2018

Perryton High School held the 2018 awards assembly Thursday morning, May 17. During the event, numerous local and regional scholarships were announced. In total, PHS seniors have been awarded $1,155,250 in scholarships to various colleges, universities and trade schools.  A portion of those scholarships, $66,000 worth, was presented on stage by representatives of local businesses and foundations.

Among the other recognitions,  Lanie Schollenbarger and Bryan Castro earned Best All-Around  while Mario Banos, Patrick Broadbent, Shaelyn Harp, Jessica Kear, Breckyn LeCompte, Asher Miller, Marylynn Montes, Morgan O’Dell, Kaleigh Petersen, Ryan Quist and Daniel Rangel were named Who’s Who.  

The Excellence in Education Award, given in honor of former PHS Teacher, Ray Turner, was presented by Principal Matt Birdwell to Dana Diedrich. 

Best Citizens were honored for each grade level with Freshman honors going to Morgyn Vela and Jacob Schollenbarger.  Haylee Cator and Kenny Ramirez were selected from the Sophomore Class while the Junior Best Citizens were Kynleigh Vela and Tommy Butler. Finally, the Best Senior Class Citizens were Lanie Schollenbarger and Ryan Quist.

The Class of 2018 Honor Graduates were recognized. They are; Valedictorian, Breckyn LeCompte; Co-Salutatorians, Jessica Kear and Camille Ramirez;  Janeli Hernandez, Ashlyne Moss, Ryan Quist, Marylynn Montez, Maritza Gonzalez, Samantha Velez, Lanie Schollenbarger, Shaelyn Harp, Leslie De La Cruz, Bryan Castro, Asher Miller, Miguel Rosales, Kaleigh Petersen, Daniel Rangel, Jontra Anderson, Hallie Thomas, Salma Gutierrez, Kimberly Lang, Morgan O’Dell, Christopher Hermasillo, Sanai Becerril, Daniela Brambila, Kamber McGarraugh and Adamary Magna