Skip to main content

School Board Discusses, Lighting, Calendar, Innovation, Gym Floor & Contracts

Posted Date: 03/27/2018

Thumbnail Image for Article 19824

The regular March meeting of the Perryton ISD board began with a tour of Perryton Kinder and Top of Texas AEC where board members observed a number a facility needs.  
After returning to the board room, the group studied a proposal from Excel Energy Group to replace lighting fixtures throughout the district with more energy efficient systems.  The project would pay for itself through energy savings.  After some discussion, the board chose to have a more detailed presentation at the next regular meeting in April. 
After awarding a bid for diesel to Fronk Oil and hearing the regular monthly financial reports, the board discussed the needed repairs to the Ranger and Rangerette gym floors at Perryton High School.   The Ranger Gym floor has not been resurfaced since being installed approximately 23 years ago.  This has created an unsafe playing surface with players slipping.  The ‘Rette gym has a rubber-type surface that has a number of holes, tears and cracks.  Following discussion, the group voted to approve up to $15,000 to repair the Ranger Gym floor and to table repairs to the Rangerette floor at this time.
Amendments to the District of Innovation Plan, as proposed by the District Education Improvement Committee, were approved along with the 2018-2019 District Calendar.  
Wright Elementary Principal Tiffany Bietz presented the board with information about the importance of the district’s RTI, response to intervention, program.  RTI has been very a successful at improving test scores for at-risk students throughout the district.
The board voted on extending contracts for the following district administrators:
Matt Birdwell, HS Principal; Dimitri Garcia, JH Principal; Read Cates, Williams Principal; Tiffany Bietz, Wright Principal; Dent Felix, Kinder Principal; Ludi Martin, TTAEC Principa!; Kyle Admire, HS Ass't. Principal; Brian Whitecotton, JH Ass't. Principal; Staci Erickson, Wright Ass't. Principa!; Mary Nine, SSA Dlrector; Jeff Vanlandingham, HS SPED Director; Dustin Klafka, Athletic Director; Doug Kile, CFO; Allen Kemp, Maintenance Director; Tracie Cessna, Food Service Director; Darin Clark, Communications Drector and Safety Officer;  They also approved all of the teachers recommended for renewal by their campus administrators.
The board set April 19 at 6:00 pm for the next regular meeting and tentatively set April 11 to meet and offer a contract to the lone superintendent finalist, Dr. Timothy Little.