Skip to main content

PHS UIL Academic Ceremony

Posted Date: 05/10/2022

PHS UIL Academic Ceremony

The Perryton High School Awards Assembly was held Monday, May 9, in the PHS Auditorium.  This was the second year to have the ceremony instead of the banquet format of past years.  The night began with the PHS band performing two songs on stage.

UIL academic awards, as well as student achievements in other academic events were announced.  These included One-Act Play, Yearbook, Welding, FCCLA, and Art.

Student Council and National Honor Society were also introduced.  Francisca Zavala then announced all of the UIL Scholars.

After a performance by the PHS Choir, the Speech and Drama Special Awards were given out.  They included the Jack R. Allen Award, presented by Suzanne Willis for the Allen Willis Foundation, which went to Carlos Hernandez.  The Outstanding Speech Student Award, presented by Chase Allison for the Kiwanis Club, went to Karson Pribble.  The Rotary Club awarded the Most Promising Newcomer to Rhia Hargues.  The outstanding Technician Award, presented by KEYE, went to Marshall Attaway and the Outstanding Drama Student was Presented by the Insurance Agencies of Perryton to Gage Bicknell and Tony Cervantes.

After a performance by the PHS Choir, the main academic awards were presented, starting with the Outstanding Art student, presented by Suzanne Willis, along with a $200 check.  The award went to Chloe Tanner.

Doug Kile presented a $225 check from the Perryton CPA’s to Mariana Valenzuela as the Outstanding Business Student.  The Outstanding English Student award was presented by Kelly Judice, on behalf of Ochiltree General Hospital.  The award went to Veronica Ontiveros.  Perryton National Bank and J. Aston presented a $200 check to the Outstanding Math Student, Saleen Nyman.

Dr. Jennifer McGaughy announced the Outstanding Science Students Award on behalf of the Perryton Physicians.  The award went to Veronica Ontiveros.  The Outstanding Social Studies Student was Jonathan Alaniz, who received a $200 check from Interstate Bank given by Mike Blasingame.  Evelyn Tarango presented the Outstanding Spanish Student Award for Security Insurance.  The award went to Natalie Castaneda.  The Outstanding Technology Student Award, presented by David Erickson on behalf of an anonymous donor, went to Eduardo Gutierrez. 

Shawn Tevis awarded the Outstanding Journalism Student on behalf of The Perryton Herald to Stephany Torres.

The 2022 Honor Graduates were announced in reverse rank order.  They were:

Abigail Vargas, Israel Loma, Yamel Granillo Gonzalez, Evelyn Becerril Colin, Efrain Cervantez, Eduardo Gutierrez, Evelin Hernandez Ayala, Jose Alfredo Ortiz, Lorely Castanon Villagran, Chloe Tanner, Preston Hernandez, Mariana Valenzuela, Abigail Baker, Patricia Ceniceros, Karyme Rojo, Lucia Valles, Paola Trejo Jaquez, Cassidee Butler, Marshall Attaway, Emmali Mariscal, Jilian Rivero, Tanya Navarrete, Erick Garcia, Jarred Natalie Castaneda, Macario Abraham Hernandez, Hope De Santiago, Yadira Ontiveros, Molly McGaughy, Halley Farney, Jonathan Alaniz and Araseli Llamas.

Finally, Principal Ross Sproul announced the top two graduates for the 2021-2022 school year.  Each received cash awards from FirstBank Southwest, and their names will be added to a plaque donated by the Diedrich Family.  The Salutatorian, receiving a $250 check, is Saleen Nyman, while the Valedictorian, with a $500 donation, is Veronica Ontiveros.

After a brief slide show recapping the year, the honor graduates led the audience in the school song to close out the evening.